Harbingerofawesome’s Weblog
Not all Harbingers are Bad!

Tale of the Silent Hall- Allegory

     “So there I was, alone, left in the ancient ruins of the once great Jamestown. My name? Well, if its of any importance, it Mu’thou. I was sent there, on a mission from my government to keep the area clear for the archeologists to arrive and extract the artifacts. So, thus began my eight day stay in the silent halls of the Jamestown city hall. All i was armed with was my standard issue radio-pistol, to check in with the higher ups, who were oddly nervous about this mission, and my small crystal shard, which I used to check in with my own associates. My order, after all, was a sect of battlemages, aiding my homeland’s government. So, in reality, the pistol was the least of my weapons. I decided it was time to begin my patrol.

     The first day was inconsiquential, I familiarized myself with the surronding ruins, and fully explored the place. I found a refugee, who had obviously lived here a long time, I inspected her closely. Using what abilities I could without risking detection, I decided she was safe to leave. I sent the message over the radion, “Alls code four over here, no sign of any hostile activity.” They responded with a “Affirmative, continue your patrol.” I frowned, this was no place to send a Mrytan Battlemage… this was a job for a grunt, not a vice-luitenant.

    The second, third, fourth, and fifth days, they passed quickly, nothing happened at all. The messages to my comrades, who had been shipped out on tour a week prior, kept me sane. The sixth day, thats when I found it, what they had obviously sent me here for: The Silent Hall. It was a tricky place to find, but I detected a slight magical spike in the area, the days before, and I finally cracked the code. After I got into the area in question, the real struggle began. In their, my crystal stopped working, my pistol-radio, only served as a radio, an offensive capabilities it once had were lost. I wandered the halls, but madness had begun to overtake me. I started to see things, things that could not exist, ghosts, random creatures darting here and there, I tried to sit down and take a break to collect my thought, but it only made things work. I had begun to search for the exit, but it evaded me. I wandered for nearly the entire two days, it had been the 8th day, and I had not eaten or drank for the entire time in the silent halls, magic was of no use here. Whatever artifacts that were here, they must be pretty powerful to do such things to a Battlemage. Finally, a voice cried out, “Special agent Mu’thou! Are you all right?!” With an exhausted sigh I replied, “Yeah, lets mark the exit, get the goods secure and get out of here!” We secured a handful of powerful artifacts, and left a small military prescence at the city till the rest of the archeologists got done. I had survived, and I could only hope the same for my comrades in their tour of duty.”

05-10-2108- Mu’thou signing off.”

 

Thats my allegory for work last night, hope you all enjoyed it!

2 Responses to “Tale of the Silent Hall- Allegory”

  1. Your such a silly sot. But thats what makes you so cool.

  2. welcome to James Standby and its many joys 🙂


Leave a comment